The Degrees of Separation that Bring Us Together





Du 10 au 25 mars

Facilité par India-Lynn Upshaw-Ruffner

Lieu:
Pierre François Ouellette Art Contemporain, 963 Rue Rachel Est

Artistes:

Kimberly Orjuela | Community” and “Going with the flow
Roxy Boyle | The Guarantee Building
Darius Long Yin Yeung | Dichotomy & 2019
Em Laferrière | I am not a rock, Rock, Moon Landing, Untitled (all part of Contrast, an ongoing series from 2021
Quang Hai Nguyen | In these eyes lie an endless ocean
Barbara Reddick | Basking




Quels sont les degrés de séparation entre nous en tant que spectateurs, artistes, amis ou étrangers?

Un degré décrit les quantités, les niveaux ou l’étendue pour lequel quelque chose a lieu.

Globalement, chacun d’entre nous peut être connecté à un autre malgré le nombre de degrés qui nous séparent.

Les artistes qui participent à cette exposition abordent leurs relations avec ces degrés de séparation, et comment ils naviguent la complexité de ces relations. Ces artistes illustrent le pouvoir de connexion tout en révélant l’aspect difficile et inconfortable qu’apporte cette reconnection avec leurs cultures et leurs identités. L’exploration de l’art traditionnel Colombien comme médium permet de redécouvrir l’histoire culturelle de ce pays à travers la céramique en combattant l’effaçage de cet art ancien. À travers une perspective de la diaspora vietnamienne, le processus d’introspection se dénoue par la photographie. L’enquête pour le sentiment d’appartenance pour notre artiste de Hong Kong, existe perché entre des influences occidentales et orientales. Nos artistes en partenariat cherchent du réconfort chez leurs voisins et leurs amis en temps d’isolation, et explorent leurs expériences à travers les médias de peinture et de photographie.

Le sentiment d'être simultanément détaché et connecté s’écoule à travers chaque œuvre dans cette exposition. Tous les artistes sont d’origine mixte ou ont des identités intersectionnelles. Les circonstances de la pandémie ont exacerbé l’hybridité de tous ces artistes, et ont amplifié les degrés de séparation dans le cadre de leurs identités. Ils utilisent leur pratique artistique pour créer un espace pour eux-mêmes dans un monde d’isolation, d’incertitude, de fluctuation et d’adaptation, offrant des espaces aux spectateurs pour faire de l’introspection et pour contempler les degrés de séparation dans leurs vies.

Nos degrés de séparation offrent la possibilité d’imaginer un monde où nous sommes tous voisins quel que soit notre nationalité, notre ethnicité, notre religion, notre genre, notre orientation sexuelle, ou n’importe quel autre facteur qui pourrait nous diviser. Découvrez les thèmes de reconnection et de célébration avec de diverses cultures, le concept de famille choisie, et la déconnexion avec soi ou avec sa culture à travers cette exposition.

The Degrees of Separation that Bring Us Together



March 10th to 25th

Facilitated by India-Lynn Upshaw-Ruffner

Venue:
Pierre François Ouellette Art Contemporain, 963 Rue Rachel Est

Artists / artistes:

Kimberly Orjuela | Community” and “Going with the flow
Roxy Boyle | The Guarantee Building
Darius Long Yin Yeung | Dichotomy & 2019
Em Laferrière | I am not a rock, Rock, Moon Landing, Untitled (all part of Contrast, an ongoing series from 2021
Quang Hai Nguyen | In these eyes lie an endless ocean
Barbara Reddick | Basking




What are the degrees of separation between us, as viewers, artists, friends, or strangers? Are there degrees of separation within our own identities?

A degree describes the amount, level, or extent to which something happens or is present. Each of us globally can be connected to one another despite how many degrees we are apart.

The artists in this exhibition tackle what degrees of separation represent for them, and how they navigate the complexity of those relationships. These artists illustrate the power of connection, while also bringing to light the difficult and uncomfortable ways reconnection with one's culture, or with oneself, affect us. Observe traditional Colombian craft as a medium to rediscover cultural history through ceramics, while combating erasure of those ancient crafts and celebrating our differences. Witness important processes of self introspection unfold through photography, surrounding diasporic identity from a Vietnamese perspective. Follow the search for belonging of one Hong Kong artist perched between Eastern and Western influences. Connect with two artists who each sought solace in the comfort of their neighbors and friends in times of isolation, exploring their experiences in their respective mediums of painting and photography.

Feeling detached yet connected is a sentiment flowing through every work in this exhibition. Each artist is of mixed origins and/or intersectional identities. Pandemic circumstances are exacerbating each artist’s hybridity, and perhaps the degrees of separation experienced within their own identities. They are using their art practice to form a space for themselves in a world of isolation, uncertainty, fluctuation, and adaptation, and offering spaces for introspection to viewers to contemplate the degrees of separation present in their lives.

Our degrees of separation allow us to imagine a world where we are all neighbors, regardless of nationality, of ethnicity, of religion, of gender, of sexual orientation, or any other factors divide us. Uncover themes of reconnection and celebration with one’s culture, the concept of a chosen family, and the disconnection with oneself or culture in this group exhibition, with each artist uniquely approaching the complex relationships entangling these notions.